Tolerance?

Is it right to judge others – nations, cultures, peoples, religions – according to your own ideals? I suppose that I offer that it’s perhaps not right but righteous to do such judging. Who am I? Who are you? Who is anyone to raise their ideals – manufactured ideals – above those of anyone else? And yet, despite the righteousness, I must further offer that some ideals are worth having and protecting – and, dare I say it, advocating. As international peoples, we have and enforce ideals; we call these human rights. I’m not sure what non-hypocritical source we can cite to having these ideals, but I’m glad we have them.

Leave a Reply

